Bilingual writing

I begin this post by admitting that English is not my language. There are many advantages and disadvantages to this and the more I write, the more I feel it. 

Disadvantages:

1. Tense: there is no tense in Chinese. I find tense in to be rather silly, confusing, if not illogical. It took me quite a while to get my head around it and I think I still get it wrong at times.

2. Vocabulary: this is tough one. Merely subscribing to word of the day is not enough. Believe it or not, I learned English by copying out words from the dictionary and hammering its spelling into my head. I still do this every now and then. This is probably the biggest obstacle I face. 

Advantages:

1. Reading range: being able to read in three different languages has its advantages. It allows me to access many stories presented in different styles. This is surprisingly useful when I run low on material. 

2. Style: a study into Thai English literature found that rather than using the language in the same way as other authors to whom English as the first language, they have their own style. The paper described this as “nativised”. I think that this is equally applicable to Chinese. I’ve talked to other Chinese authors about this and they agree in that this “native” English distinguishes their work. 

That pretty much sums it up for me. I invite anyone to correct my mistakes or add to the post. 

Leave a Reply

