Working!

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve last posted. I’ve begun work in the public service and have found the experience rather fascinating. Inland Revenue feels more like a spy agency at times than just another government branch. 

There are quite a few adjustments to make. First of all, less sleep. Getting up at 6am during the middle of winter is a bit of a struggle for a spoiled brat like me. Secondly, caffeine has become my best friend. Lastly, I’m learning to make better use of my time. Unable to use work internet during breaks will take some…enduring. 

Still, I feel this is a good opportunity to observe not just the organisational procedures (well, that’s important if I want to keep my job), but the people around. Unlike college, one gets to encounter folks from multiple backgrounds. And yes, we do have interesting work stories, only that we cannot tell you about it. 

I’m typing this up while praying for snow. Let’s hope the weather forecast will not disappoint. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

